Flemish Competition

During the awards ceremony Saturday, December 2, the Kortfilmfestival prizes were handed out. In the Flemish Competition, the jury awarded The Miracle by Nienke Deutz with the prize for Best Flemish Short Film. That also earns the film a spot on the Oscar's longlist for best animated short film.

Friday, 1st of July by Sarah Lederman won in the category Flemish Fiction. For that, Camalot donated facilities worth €12,500.

The Audience Award in the Flemish Fiction Competition went to Rachid by Rachida El Garani. The film is purchased by Canvas for €2.000 and is awarded with facilities from Sondr and A Sound worth €5.000.

The Jury Prize for Best Debut goes to Rocky Meets Lucy by Georges Rottier. SABAM awarded him with €1.500.

The Jury Award for Best Acting Performance goes to Cato Catteeuw for her role in her own film Burn. She received a prize of €1.000 from PlayRight+.

The Jury Award for Best Cinematography goes to Director of Photography Michel Rosendaal. He receives the award for his work in Friday, 1st of July by Sarah Lederman. The prize amounted to €1.000 and was donated by Camalot. 

The Jury chose Meeuwen Schreeuwen in het Weekend by Frederik and Maria Stuut as Best Short Documentary in the Flemish Competition. For that, they were rewarded with €7.500 by Camalot.

In the Flemish Animation Competition, the audience chose Levi Stoops' comic Drijf as the big favourite. Canvas will be pleased with their purchase of €2,000. The jury prize for Best Animation went to The Miracle by Nienke Deutz.

European Competition

In the European competition, the jury awarded A Study of Empathy by Danish director Hilke Rönnfeldt, which includes a prize of €1,000 from Kortfilmfestival Leuven. The jury is also nominating the film for the European Film Awards 2024. The film will also receive an Academy Award qualification in the Best Live Action Fiction Short Film category.

Audiences within the European Competition fell completely for Victoria Warmerdam's slightly absurd Ik ben geen robot. Dalton Distribution purchased the short film for €1,000.

The Peer Award is being presented for the fourth time this year. Be Somebody by Michał Toczek was the peer favourite. The award earns him a spot as one of the jury members at Kortfilmfestival Leuven 2024.

Guest awards

Some guest awards were also presented. On Wednesday, November 29, the Humo audience chose Pedro by Aline Boyen as the winner of the Humo Award. Dalton Distribution purchased the short film.

The Press Award in the Flemish fiction competition goes to Rachid by Rachida El Garani. UBFP and UFK donated €500 as the prize money.

The winners of the Pitch Your Script Award are Kyra Verreydt and Bavo Verhaegen. They both received €5.000 from Camalot to produce their films.